Thursday, February 12, 2009

Beyonce, Stevie Wonder, added to NAACP Image Awards

Superstar recording artists Beyoncé, Stevie Wonder and are each set to perform live at the 40TH NAACP IMAGE AWARDS, which will broadcast from Los Angeles' historic Shrine Auditorium on Thursday, Feb. 12 (8:00-10:00 PM ET live/PT tape-delayed) on FOX.

Beyoncé, Stevie Wonder and join previously announced performers Jennifer Hudson and Seal. In addition, Angela Bassett, Rosario Dawson, Omar Epps, Louis Gossett Jr., Hill Harper, Randy Jackson, Sanaa Lathan, Mo'Nique, Nate Parker, Tracee Ellis Ross and Cicely Tyson will appear on the special along with previously announced participants Sean "Diddy" Combs, Taraji P. Henson, Keke Palmer, Regina Taylor and Kerry Washington.

Hosted by Halle Berry and Tyler Perry, the special coincides with the NAACP’s 100th anniversary and will kick off the organization's year-long centennial celebration. Previously announced honorees include Former Vice President Al Gore and Dr. Wangari Muta Maathai, who both will receive the Chairman's Award; Russell Simmons, who will receive the Vanguard Award; and Muhammad Ali, who will receive the President's Award.